Lighting Strikes Again

Jack and Sam: Lightening Strikes again

 

                When my oldest son was in high school, he liked to help me deliver wood after school in order to make a little extra money. Since he had a drivers license, he could load the truck and deliver the wood himself, or with a friend. We had an old 74 Dodge one ton at the time, a heavily built truck with duals on the rear and a bed that could carry two full cords. One consistent problem I had with that old truck was a reoccurring short in the rear left tail light. I was constantly fixing it, but it never stayed fixed long. At the time of this particular story, the tail light was in a state of unfix.

            One afternoon when he was particularly needy for money, he began to pester me to let him make a two cord delivery with his sidekick Jack. The tail light was out so I was a little leery of letting him go, particularly with Jack. When ever those did something together, things just had a way of going awry. Still, he kept pestering me, and I liked the idea of two cords being delivered with out my being involved. I told him again and again, to remember to hand signal when he made a left turn. “You only have two left turns, Sam, be sure to use your hand!”

“Sure, Dad, I know, I know…”

            A half an hour later I was driving up to the accident site. He had pulled in front of a gravel hack pulling a trailer with a large back hoe on it. Two good things: No one had gotten hurt, amazingly, and the truck driver had been passing illegally. The bad thing? Sam admitted he had forgotten to use his turn signal. I personally doubt he even checked his rear view mirror. Sam was very embarrassed and shaken. Jack’s comment was, “You should have been there Mr. Hodges,  it was totally awesome…”

About notmanynoble

woodcutter from Washington State
This entry was posted in Personal vignettes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lighting Strikes Again

  1. Tony J. Bowe says:

    It seems those two have a lot of stores together…

    Like

  2. Mark says:

    Yeah, and then Jack followed Sam to Moody,and they had further adventures there. But somehow they both have survived after a fashion..lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

