Luther on the Manly Job of Changing Diapers

500 years before the leaders of the Feminist movement told their wide-eyed followers to burn their bras, abandon their children and divorce their husbands in search of self fulfillment, Martin Luther penned these words about a husbands Godly obligation to help his wife in her humble duties and thus alleviate her drudgery.  Had we as men paid more attention, perhaps we could have pushed off the women’s “liberation” movement for a few hundred years more.

Luther;

 “Now observe that clever harlot, our natural reason…takes alook at married life, she turns up her nose and says, ‘Alas, must I rock the baby, wash its diapers, make its bed, smell its stench, stay up nights with it, take care of it when it cries, heal its rashes and sores, and top of that care for my wife, provide for her, labor at my trade, take care of this and that, do this and that, endure this and endure that, and whatever else of bitterness and drudgery married life involves? What then does the Christian faith say to this? It opens its eyes, looks upon all these insignificant, distasteful, and despised duties in the Spirit, and is aware that they are all adorned with divine approval as with the costliest gold and jewels. It says ‘O God, because I am certain that thou hast created me a man and hast from my body begotten this child, I also know for a certainty that it meets with thy perfect pleasure. I confess to thee that I am not worthy to rock this little babe or wash its diapers, or to be entrusted with the care of the child and its mother. How that I, without any merit, have come to this distinction of being certain that I am serving thy creature and thy most precious will? O how gladly will I do so, though the duties should be even more insignificant and despised. Neither frost nor heat, neither drudgery nor labor, will distress or dissuade me, for I am certain that it is pleasing in thy sight.”

Luther, The Estate of Marriage, 1522

About notmanynoble

woodcutter from Washington State
This entry was posted in Sola Scriptura and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Luther on the Manly Job of Changing Diapers

  1. Samm Hodges says:

    Haha, that’s convicting, eh?

    Like

    • notmanynoble says:

      Yeah, Its kind of funny, I read that comment by lulther a couple of times before and thought it was written to women and somehow managed to miss that Luther was talking to men….My self defense mechanism must have been working well…lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

