Jerusalem, Jerusalem, If I Forget You let My Right Hand Forget its Cunning.

More than two millennia and a half ago (2500 years), a thousand years before Mohammad was a twinkle in his mother’s eye, the Psalmist hung up his harp on a willow by the rivers of Babylon and he wept…

By the Rivers of Babylon, there we set down, yea, we wept…But those who carried us away requested a song…saying “Sing us one of the songs of Zion!”

How shall we sing the LORDs song, in a foreign land? If I forget thee, oh Jerusalem, let my right hand forget its cunning,

If I do not remember you let my tongue cling to the roof of my mouth, if I do not exalt Jerusalem above my chief joy… [Psalm 137]

Has the LORD forgotten or cast off Israel?

Can a woman forget her suckling child? And not have compassion on the son of her womb?  Surely they may forget, Yet I will not forget you. See, I have inscribed you on the palms of my hands…[Is.49:15,16]

Thus says the LORD, if My covenant is not with night and day, and if I have not appointed the ordinances of the heaven and the earth, then will I cast away the descendants of Jacob and David. [Jer.31:25]

Whose land is it?

I will gather all the nations and bring them down to the valley of Jehoshaphat; and I will enter into judgement with them there, on the account of My people, My heritage, Israel, whom they have scattered among the nations. They have also divided up My land. [Joel 3:2]

To whom has he given His land?

I will bring the captives of My people, Israel…And I will plant them in their land and no longer will they be pulled up from the land I have given them, says the Lord your God. [Amos 9:14,15]

Behold, I will gather them out of all the countries where I have driven them in my anger…and I will bring them back to this place and cause them to dwell safely…and I will assuredly plant them in this Land with all my heart and all my soul.  [Jer.32:37-41]

Behold I will make Jerusalem a very heavy stone for all peoples; all who would heave it away will surely be cut into pieces, though all the nations of the earth are gathered against it…in that day the LORD will defend Jerusalem, the one who is feeble among them in that day will be like David…It will be in that day that I will seek to destroy all the nations that come against Jerusalem. [Zech.12:3,8,9]

Jerusalem belongs to the Jews. It is their Land. It is their City. By a heritage of over 3000 years. By the right of the spoils of war, war brought on them by an implacable and treacherous enemy. By the right of the Creator of the entire universe, who is first and foremost, the God of Israel. Let the modern-day Romans quiet themselves and quit their childish and often foolish meddling. Let the Arabs go to Mecca. But pray for the peace of Jerusalem, because He who keeps Israel neither slumbers or sleeps.[Ps.121]

About notmanynoble

woodcutter from Washington State
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

