Logic Class Incoming

Response to a Logics Professor

This is a post I put on the discussion board when my online logic professor at a local college put intelligent design in the same category of argument as astrology in one of her lectures. No one in the class challenged her and neither she nor anyone in the entire class responded to my post when I questioned her position. I kept the response short and to the point, to give her fewer rabbits to chase, but she refused to engage. In all other ways she was a good professor, but obviously had a bias. A bias which was also displayed in her choice of textbook. However she made no further disparaging remarks for the remainder of the class, and I don’t think she punished me, as she gave me a decent grade. I have no idea if anyone in the fairly large class ever went to see Ben Steins movie, Expelled.

             I don’t think “intelligent design” belongs in the same category as astrology and superstition, unless you want to put Neo- Darwinism in the same category. For one, life from non-life has proven to be a biological and chemical impossibility; and at least 99.9 percent of mutations cause a loss of information, not a gain.  According to paleontologists from the American Museum of Natural History, the fossil record has proven to be such poor support for evolutionary theory; they’ve had to come up with a whole new theory to explain the consistent stasis found there. (Yes that is an argument from authority)

             Since true Darwinian evolution (spontaneous generation) has never been observed and an act of supernatural creation has never been observed, (at least under modern scientific testing) both rely upon faith. The Ben Stein movie “Expelled” is opening this weekend in Spokane and should be a great introduction to the subject. My youngest daughter saw it last night and was quite excited about it; I plan to see it tomorrow, if I can make the drive from Republic.

 

You would have thought that in a Logics class the professor would have jumped at the chance to point out what she perceived to be the fallacies in my short presentation, or errors in content. After all, this was a class about argument and certainly no one forced the professor to use her lecture as a tool for attacking intelligent design. Having done so you would have thought that she would have been prepared to defend her view point with a display of finesse and logic that becomes a Masters or Doctored college professor of Logic.

Apparently all she was prepared for was a cheap shot, that had probably gone unchallenged in the past.

About notmanynoble

woodcutter from Washington State
This entry was posted in It's a Young Earth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Logic Class Incoming

  1. Lance Ponder says:

    I rather liked that movie. I own a copy. I’ve watched it a few times. The real point of it – as I’m sure you know – is academic freedom (or lack thereof), particularly in regards to any ideas differing from Darwinism. As a YEC, I have no problem with students being taught the theory of evolution. It is important to understand what is widely believed in order to make a logical choice whether or not to believe it.

    Like

    • notmanynoble says:

      No, I agree, I have no trouble with evolution being taught accurately, but in the public schools my kids went to it was indoctrination, biased to the point and beyond honesty. It does provide fuel for Christian kids to witness with, if they are creationists. I’m a yeckie too, but I enjoyed the movie and that was before it was caught up in litigation, so it was showing at a local theater. The timing was perfect.

      Like

Leave a Reply

