From His Prison Cell, Tyndale Speaks

Vilvorde, Netherlands, 1536

William Tyndale, writing from his prison cell to those in charge of his belongings, in 1536, shortly before his execution, for translating the bible into the common English of the day.

“I believe, right worshipful, that you are not unaware of what may have been determined concerning me. Wherefore I beg your lordship, and that by the Lord Jesus, that if I am to remain here through the winter, you will request the commissary to have the kindness to send me from the goods of mine that he has; a warmer cap; for I suffer greatly from cold in the head, and am afflicted by a perpetual catarrh, which is increased in this cell; a warmer coat also, for the one I have is very thin; a piece of cloth to patch my leggings, my overcoat is worn out; my shirts are also worn out. He has a woolen shirt if he will be good enough to send it…And I ask to be allowed to have a lamp in the evening; it is indeed wearisome sitting alone in the dark.” [Mozely, J.F., William Tydale, 1937 reprint, p.334]

Alas, he would be warm soon enough, as he was choked with a wire and burned at the stake unto dust, in the town of Vilvorde, October, 1536.

About notmanynoble

woodcutter from Washington State
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

